Accounting

Accounting

Accounting

COBEDr. William Raabe, Chair
Accounting Department
Hyland Hall 3301B
(262) 472-5451
raabew@uww.edu

Website

About the Programs

The nationally recognized accounting program prepares students for careers in public, industrial or governmental accounting. The department offers a bachelor's of business administration degree and a master of professional accountancy degree. The master's degree program allows students to sit for the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Exam a year after graduation.

The department stresses teaching excellence and student access. In addition to their academic credentials, faculty members have professional experience and most are certified public accountants. Some faculty members hold additional professional certificates including certified management accountant, certified internal auditor, certified fraud examiner and certified financial manager. Faculty members also have active service records to the community and the accounting profession.

Students will gain valuable real-world experience through full-time internships with local accounting firms and community outreach with the department's Volunteer Income Tax Assistance and Low Income Tax Assistance programs. Leadership opportunities are available through any one of the three nationally recognized student organizations. Beta Alpha Psi, an international honorary organization for financial information professionals, has been recognized as a superior chapter in 28 of the last 32 years. The student chapter of the Institute of Management Accountants has been named a top chapter in the nation eight times. The student chapter of the National Association of Black Accountants has had a national member of the year.

Many graduates of the program begin their professional careers in public accounting as auditors or tax specialists. Others go into private industry and work in financial reporting, cost accounting, internal auditing and merger and acquisition accounting.

Faculty/Staff Information

Faculty/Staff Office Phone Email
Linda Amann HH3530 (262) 472-3925 amannl@uww.edu
Alka Arora HH3301B (262) 472-5452 aroraa@uww.edu
Richard Cummings HH3529 (262) 472-3936 cummingr@uww.edu
Dawn Doering HH3524 (262) 472-1639 doeringd@uww.edu
Joseph Gerard HH3429 (262) 472-5464 gerardj@uww.edu
Robert Gruber HH3427 (262) 472-5463 gruberr@uww.edu
Lynn Hafemeister HH3415 (262) 472-5450 hafemeil@uww.edu
Linda Holmes HH3527 (262) 472-5451 holmesl@uww.edu
Ron Jastrzebski HH3431 (262) 472-3925 jastrzer@uww.edu
Michael MacDonald HH3528 (262) 472-3945 macdonam@uww.edu
Carol Normand HH3531 (262) 472-5453 normandc@uww.edu
William Tatman HH3526 (262) 472-1707 tatmanw@uww.edu
Roy Weatherwax HH3525 (262) 472-1029 weatherr@uww.edu
Meifang Xiang HH3532 (262) 472-4912 xiangm@uww.edu
Tong “Robert” Yu HH3429 (262) 472-6965 yut@uww.edu

Location

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 W. Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790
Directory Assistance: (262) 472-1234

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel Top 100 Workplaces 2014

Follow Us

  • Flickr
  • Flickr
54.234.234.198