Art

Art

Art and Design

Center of the Arts

Sue Messer , Chair
Department of Art and Design
Center of the Arts 2064
(262) 472-1324
art@uww.edu

Web site

About the Programs

Students are challenged to a high level of creative achievement in the Department of Art and Design .

A rigorous curriculum, nationally renowned faculty members and cutting-edge facilities prepare students for a variety of careers in the visual arts.

Students have access to spacious and well-equipped art studios. Two computer laboratories are dedicated to graphic design and multimedia. Studios for ceramics, sculpture and metals and jewelry provide students with three-dimensional tools and equipment. The painting, printmaking and drawing studio offers creative space for students working with two-dimensional media.

The Crossman Gallery gives students the opportunity to exhibit their own work. Through the gallery students also have access to exhibits by state, regional, national and internationally known artists.

Students can pursue degrees in fine art, graphic design, art education and multimedia design. Minors are available in art history, multimedia design and arts management.

Internships are available and students can earn university credits while gaining on-the-job training. The Student Design Association, Student Art Association, Ceramics Club and ALLOY Metals Club also provide opportunities for personal and professional development.

Graduates of the department go on to careers in graphic and Web design, illustration, printmaking, photography, ceramics, jewelry, education, or gallery curation.

The Department of Art and Design is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, one of only 277 schools nationwide to receive the prestigious distinction.

Faculty/Staff Information

Faculty/Staff Office Phone Email
Denis Dale CA2067 (262) 472-1589 daled@uww.edu
Teresa Faris CA2050 (262) 472-5566 farist@uww.edu
Andre Ferrella CA2049 (262) 472-4675 ferella@uww.edu
Michael Flanagan CA1030 (262) 472-5708 flanagam@uww.edu
Theresa Ganshert CA2049 (262) 472-4675 ganshert@uww.edu
Chris Henige CA2064 (262) 472-5565 henigec@uww.edu
Daniel Kim CA2063 (262) 472-1043 kimd@uww.edu
Daniel McGuire CA1036 (262) 472-5570 mcguired@uww.edu
Renee Melton CA2068 (262) 472-5563 meltonr@uww.edu
Bob Mertens CA2029 (262) 472-1948 mertensr@uww.edu
Susan Messer CA2045 (262) 472-1843 messers@uww.edu
Charlie Olson CA1037 (262) 472-1318 olsonc@uww.edu
Greg Porcaro CA2065 (262) 472-5569 porcarog@uww.edu
Gautam Wadhwa CA2071 (262) 472-1642 wadhwag@uww.edu
Max White CA2035 (262) 472-4754 whitem@uww.edu
Deborah Wilk CA2037 (262) 472-5567 wilkd@uww.edu
Xiaohong Zhang CA2062 (262) 472-5568 zhangx@uww.edu

Location

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 W. Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790
Directory Assistance: (262) 472-1234

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel Top 100 Workplaces 2014

Follow Us

  • Flickr
  • Flickr
54.163.168.15