Communication

Communication

Communication

Center of the Arts

Kim Hixson, chair
Communication Department
Heide 461
(262) 472-5083
uwwcomm@uww.edu

Web site

About the Programs

Hands-on experience, up-to-date instruction and outstanding facilities prepare students in the Communication Department for careers in a rapidly changing world.

Students have their pick of majors in a department that has one of the largest and most diverse offerings in the state.Degrees are available in advertising, broadcast/print/web journalism, international journalism, public relations, corporate and health communication and electronic media.

The department is also home to the media arts and game development program, the only one of its kind in the UW System.

State-of-the-art facilities, including radio and cable television stations complete with studios and production suites, give students the practical experience necessary to meet the immediate needs of employers upon graduation.

Students build professional contacts through participation in the Public Relations Student Society of America, Zeta Phi Eta national communication fraternity and the forensics team. Students also publish the Royal Purple, a weekly newspaper available in print and online.

Graduates with a communication degree find careers in advertising, newspapers and magazines, radio and television, fundraising, event planning, public relations, Web design and development, and video and audio production.

Faculty/Staff Information

Faculty/Staff Office Phone Email
Kim Hixson, Chairperson HE461 (262) 472-5083 hixsont@uww.edu
Ed Frederick, Assistant Chair HE454 (262) 472-5066 frederie@uww.edu
Kathy Brady, Advising Coord. HE465 (262) 472-1726 bradyk@uww.edu
Tammy French, Basic Course Coord. HE430 (262) 472-1720 frencht@uww.edu
Julie Ridgeman, Acad. Dept. Assoc. HE464 (262) 472-1034 ridgemaj@uww.edu
Tricia Borchardt, Univ. Serv. Assoc. L1217B/MG104 (262) 472-5065 borcharp@uww.edu
Kannan Amr MG105 (262) 472-1725 amrk@uww.edu
Dan Banda L1217K (262) 472-1730 bandad@uww.edu
Ray Baus HE440 (262) 472-1062 bausr@uww.edu
Nick Bentz HE433 (262) 472-5079 bentzns16@uww.edu
Josh Bolton HE439 (262) 472-1754 boltonJ06@uww.edu
Mary K Casey HE436 (262) 472-5049 caseym@uww.edu
Corey Davis HE459 (262) 472-5026 davisc@uww.edu
Jim Disrude L1217A (262) 472-1607 disrudeJL10@uww.edu
Chris Etheridge L1217E (262) 472-5022 etheridc@uww.edu
Josh Fishburn MG104C (262) 472-5082 fishburj@uww.edu
Jodi Galvan HE435 (262) 472-1753 galvanj@uww.edu
Jackie Guthrie HE418 (262) 472-5068 guthriej@uww.edu
Jim Kates L1217M (262) 472-5034 katesj@uww.edu
Jon Kelley (GA) L1217A (262) 472-5022 kelleyjm13@uww.edu
Kris Kranenburg L1217H (262) 472-2876 kranenbk@uww.edu
Kate Ksobiech HE420 (262) 472-3175 ksobieck@uww.edu
Min-Woo Kwon L1217K (262) 472-1730 kwonm@uww.edu
Bill Lowell HE438 (262) 472-1286 lowellw@uww.edu
Brian Lucas HE304C (262) 472-5067 lucasb@uww.edu
Anne Mancl HE434 (262) 472-1063 mancla@uww.edu
Casey McCall (GIA) HE433 (262) 472-5079 mccallCL21@uww.edu
Jim Mead L1209 (262) 472-5659 meadj@uww.edu
Alex Olcott (GIA) HE433 (262) 472-5079 olcottAS07@uww.edu
Amelia Ortiz (GIA) HE433 (262) 472-5079 ortizA27@uww.edu
Barbara Penington HE426 (262) 472-1983 peningtb@uww.edu
Kathy Price (GIA) HE433 (262) 472-5079 pricekj27@uww.edu
Linda Robinson L1217I (262) 472-5025 robinsol@uww.edu
Marieke Spiegelhoff HE424 (262) 472-2784 spiegelm@uww.edu
James Terkeurst L1217F (262) 472-1906 terkeurj@uww.edu
Nam-Hyun Um L1217G (262) 472-5075 umn@uww.edu
Sally Vogl-Bauer HE428 (262) 472-1025 voglbaus@uww.edu
David Wachanga L1217J (262) 472-5457 wachangd@uww.edu
Chuck Weber HE435 (262) 472-1753 webercp@uww.edu
Anna Weisling HE422 (262) 472-1752 weislingAV15@uww.edu
S-A Welch HE422 (262) 472-5722 welchs@uww.edu
David Wilcox HE418 (262) 472-5068 wilcoxd111@uww.edu
Susan Wildermuth HE432 (262) 472-5064 wilderms@uww.edu
Kathy Yih HE437 (262) 472-1752 yihk@uww.edu

Location

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 W. Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790
Directory Assistance: (262) 472-1234

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel Top 100 Workplaces 2014

Follow Us

  • Flickr
  • Flickr
54.82.231.87