Music

Music

Music

Center of the Arts

J. Michael Allsen, Chair
Music Department
Center of the Arts 2038
(262) 472-1310
music@uww.edu

Web site

About the Programs

UW-Whitewater music students have a long tradition of success in the field thanks to the department's outstanding facilities, a challenging curriculum and skilled faculty members who are active performers. The department holds accreditation from the National Association of Schools of Music.

Each student studies privately with a faculty member who is a role model, mentor and adviser. Music Department faculty members have won numerous teaching and research awards and are active in community outreach.

Music majors will be prepared for careers in teaching, performance or advanced study. The department is proud of its nearly 100 percent placement rate for its music education graduates. Performance majors leave the university with the solo, choir and large ensemble experiences needed for future performance careers and admission into graduate study.

In addition to award-wining faculty, music students have won numerous awards at the state and national level. The Richard G. Gaarder Award, which recognizes Wisconsin's top music education student, has been given to a UW-Whitewater student 12 out of the last 21 years. Vocal students have also won the Metropolitan Opera's Encouragement Award.

Outside the classroom, students can gain valuable performance and leadership experience through participation in choirs, bands and orchestras or instrumental ensembles. Students may join professional organizations like Delta Omicron international music fraternity, Tau Phi Lambda music sorority, Collegiate Music Educators, International Association of Jazz, National Association of Teachers of Singing and the American String Teachers' Association.

Faculty/Staff Information

Faculty/Staff Office Phone Email
J. Michael Allsen CA2038 (262) 472-1310 allsenj@uww.edu
Jim Athas CA2003 (262) 472-1310 athasj@uww.edu
Kirby Bock CA0016 (262) 472-1756 bockk@uww.edu
Karen Boe CA2013 (262) 472-5624 boak@uww.edu
Brygida Bziukiewica-Kulig CA2003 (262) 472-1310 brygidabz@uww.edu
Susan Chandler CA2009 (262) 472-5621 chandles@uww.edu
Myung-Hee Chung CA2016 (262) 472-5622 chungm@uww.edu
Julie Cross CA2025 (262) 472-5623 crossj@uww.edu
Michael Dugan CA2007 (262) 472-4655 duganm@uww.edu
Christian Ellenwood CA2018 (262) 472-4664 ellenwoc@uww.edu
Robin Fellows CA2019 (262) 472-5628 fellowsr@uww.edu
George Ferencz CA2015 (262) 472-4842 ferenczg@uww.edu
Jane Ferencz CA2017 (262) 472-5626 ferenczj@uww.edu
Robert Gehrenbeck CA2024 (262) 472-1340 gehrenbr@uww.edu
Frank Hanson CA2010 (262) 472-1289 hansonf@uww.edu
Kenneth Harned CA2021 (262) 472-1352 harnedk@uww.edu
Glenn Hayes CA2008 (262) 472-1337 hayesg@uww.edu
Jeff Herriott CA2006 (262) 472-1424 herriotj@uww.edu
Alena Holmes CA2009 (262) 472-1341 holmesa@uww.edu
Linda Kimball CA2024 (262) 472-1340 kimballl@uww.edu
Leanne League CA2011 (262) 472-5621 leaguel@uww.edu
Brian Leeper CA2009 (262) 472-5574 leeperb@uww.edu
George Lindquist CA2003 (262) 472-1310 lindquig@uww.edu
Jennifer Paulson CA2011 (262) 472-5621 paulson@uww.edu
Melissa Reisen CA2006 (262) 472-1217 rosingc@uww.edu
Steven Rindt CA2009 (262) 472-5621 rindts@uww.edu
Carol Rosing CA2006 (262) 472-1217 rosingc@uww.edu
Matan Rubinsein CA2005 (262) 472-5627 rubinstm@uww.edu
Matthew Sintchak CA2004 (262) 472-5710 sintcham@uww.edu
Leotha Stanley (262) 472-1310 stanleyl@uww.edu
Bradley Townsend CA2038 (262) 472-1310 townsenb@uww.edu
John Tuinstra CA2014 (262) 472-5709 tuinstrj@uww.edu
Benjamin Whitcomb CA2022 (262) 472-5573 whitcomb@uww.edu
Tobie Wilkinson CA2026 (262) 472-5703 wilkinst@uww.edu

Location

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 W. Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790
Directory Assistance: (262) 472-1234

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel Top 100 Workplaces 2014

Follow Us

  • Flickr
  • Flickr
50.19.206.49