Center of the Arts

J. Michael Allsen, Chair
Music Department
Center of the Arts 2038
(262) 472-1310

Web site

About the Programs

UW-Whitewater music students have a long tradition of success in the field thanks to the department's outstanding facilities, a challenging curriculum and skilled faculty members who are active performers. The department holds accreditation from the National Association of Schools of Music.

Each student studies privately with a faculty member who is a role model, mentor and adviser. Music Department faculty members have won numerous teaching and research awards and are active in community outreach.

Music majors will be prepared for careers in teaching, performance or advanced study. The department is proud of its nearly 100 percent placement rate for its music education graduates. Performance majors leave the university with the solo, choir and large ensemble experiences needed for future performance careers and admission into graduate study.

In addition to award-wining faculty, music students have won numerous awards at the state and national level. The Richard G. Gaarder Award, which recognizes Wisconsin's top music education student, has been given to a UW-Whitewater student 12 out of the last 21 years. Vocal students have also won the Metropolitan Opera's Encouragement Award.

Outside the classroom, students can gain valuable performance and leadership experience through participation in choirs, bands and orchestras or instrumental ensembles. Students may join professional organizations like Delta Omicron international music fraternity, Tau Phi Lambda music sorority, Collegiate Music Educators, International Association of Jazz, National Association of Teachers of Singing and the American String Teachers' Association.

Faculty/Staff Information

Faculty/Staff Office Phone Email
J. Michael Allsen CA2038 (262) 472-1310
Jim Athas CA2003 (262) 472-1310
Kirby Bock CA0016 (262) 472-1756
Karen Boe CA2013 (262) 472-5624
Brygida Bziukiewica-Kulig CA2003 (262) 472-1310
Susan Chandler CA2009 (262) 472-5621
Myung-Hee Chung CA2016 (262) 472-5622
Julie Cross CA2025 (262) 472-5623
Michael Dugan CA2007 (262) 472-4655
Christian Ellenwood CA2018 (262) 472-4664
Robin Fellows CA2019 (262) 472-5628
George Ferencz CA2015 (262) 472-4842
Jane Ferencz CA2017 (262) 472-5626
Robert Gehrenbeck CA2024 (262) 472-1340
Frank Hanson CA2010 (262) 472-1289
Kenneth Harned CA2021 (262) 472-1352
Glenn Hayes CA2008 (262) 472-1337
Jeff Herriott CA2006 (262) 472-1424
Alena Holmes CA2009 (262) 472-1341
Linda Kimball CA2024 (262) 472-1340
Leanne League CA2011 (262) 472-5621
Brian Leeper CA2009 (262) 472-5574
George Lindquist CA2003 (262) 472-1310
Jennifer Paulson CA2011 (262) 472-5621
Melissa Reisen CA2006 (262) 472-1217
Steven Rindt CA2009 (262) 472-5621
Carol Rosing CA2006 (262) 472-1217
Matan Rubinsein CA2005 (262) 472-5627
Matthew Sintchak CA2004 (262) 472-5710
Leotha Stanley (262) 472-1310
Bradley Townsend CA2038 (262) 472-1310
John Tuinstra CA2014 (262) 472-5709
Benjamin Whitcomb CA2022 (262) 472-5573
Tobie Wilkinson CA2026 (262) 472-5703


University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 W. Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790
Directory Assistance: (262) 472-1234

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel Top 100 Workplaces 2014

Follow Us

  • Flickr
  • Flickr