Occupational & Environmental Safety and Health

Occupational & Environmental Safety and Health

Occupational & Environmental Safety and Health

Hyland

Alvaro D. Taveira, chair
HH3305B
(262) 472-5427
safety@uww.edu

Web site

About the Programs

Students with a degree in occupational and environmental safety and health will be prepared for a wide range of career opportunities in industry and government with excellent potential for advancement. Graduates will enjoy a strong job market with growing salaries.

Students can earn an undergraduate degree in occupational safety with optional emphases in construction safety, ergonomics or environmental management. A graduate degree in safety is also offered, as well as certificates in construction safety and ergonomics. A licensure program in driver�s education is also available. The department is accredited by the Institute for Safety and Health Management.

Coursework in the safety program covers a wide range of subjects including accident causes and prevention, environmental protection, construction safety, ergonomics and occupational safety management. Students will gain important skills that allow them to recognize, analyze and reduce hazards in the workplace and in the community. They will gain hands-on experience through practical worksite experiences, including a full-semester internship with a practicing occupational and environmental safety and health professional.

The department has new, state-of-the-art facilities in Timothy J. Hyland Hall, plus a dedicated laboratory and classroom in the Ambrose Health Center, that offer students an excellent learning environment and multiple applied experiences.

Outside the classroom, students can participate in the internationally recognized Student Safety Organization, which sponsors professional development seminars, field trips and an annual full-day conference where safety professionals from a variety of industries and agencies come to UW-Whitewater to share their experiences.

Graduates of the occupational and environmental safety and health program go on to careers in state and federal government, industrial and construction companies, insurance companies, consulting firms and health care facilities.

Faculty/Staff Information

Faculty/Staff Office Phone Email
Deborah Bowen HH3508 (262) 472-5435 bowend@uww.edu
Sang Choi HH3509 (262) 472-1641 chois@uww.edu
Wayne Cole HH3502 (262) 472-1911 colew@uww.edu
George Gruetzmacher HH3505 (262) 472-1202 gruetsmg@uww.edu
Andrew Kapp HH3501 (262) 472-5423 kappa@uww.edu
David Nordstrom HH3503 (262) 472-5589 nordstrd@uww.edu
Alvaro Taveira HH3305B (262) 472-5427 taveiraa@uww.edu
Kay Vant HH3305 (262) 472-1117 vantk@uww.edu
Craig Wucivic HH3506 (262) 472-1462 wucivicc@uww.edu
Roger Young HH3500 (262) 472-1911 youngrl@uww.edu

Location

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 W. Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790
Directory Assistance: (262) 472-1234

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel Top 100 Workplaces 2014

Follow Us

  • Flickr
  • Flickr
54.196.195.207