Contact Information

Fe Evangelista
Department Chair
Phone: (262) 472-5684
Location: Laurentide 2207

Math News & Events

Math students present undergraduate research results

SEPTEMBER 27, 2016

Five UW-Whitewater math majors were among the students making presentations at the Fall Undergraduate Research Day on September 27, held in the Hamilton Center at the UC.

Ryan Schroeder presented his work, "Quantum Mechanics and Mathematical Biology." Ryan's faculty mentors are Leon Arriola in the Mathematics Department and Paul House in the Chemistry Department.

Robert (Noah) Padgett presented "Antibiotic Resistance in Beef Cattle: The Effects of Culling and Quarantine." This is an independently funded project. Noah's faculty mentors are Christopher Kribs, University of Texas-Arlington; Leon Arriola, UW-Whitewater Mathematics Department; and Feresteh Nazari, Arizona State University.

Alissa Zawacki, a Psychology major, and Noah Padgett co-presented "Assessing Intervention Effectiveness in Walworth County's Health and Human Services." Their faculty mentor is Meg Waraczynski of the Department of Psychology.

Brent Zey, who is majoring in Economics, French, and Mathematics-Statistics, presented "Importance of Access to Financing for Small Businesses in Wisconsin." Brent's faculty advisor is Eylem Ersal-Kiziler of the Department of Economics (College of Business and Economics).

Ravon Bonds, a McNair Scholar, presented "Perceived Reliability of Consumer Ratings and Reviews." Ravon's faculty mentor is Robert Boostrom of the Marketing department (College of Business and Economics).

Antwanette Bounds, a McNair Scholar, presented "Self-Efficacy in Mathematics." Antwanette's faculty Mentor is Laura Porterfield from the Department of Educational Foundations (College of Education and Professional Studies).

UW-W math majors present at MAA Wisconsin section meeting

APRIL 22-23, 2016

Three math majors presented the results of their undergraduate research projects at the MAA Wisconsin section meeting held at UW La Crosse, April 22-23, 2016.

Freshman Eric Lawson, mentored by Dr. Pawel Felcyn, presented "The Complete Bell Polynomial of a Product." Robert (Noah) Padgett, a junior with a double major in mathematics and psychology and mentored by Dr. Khyam Paneru, presented "Zero-Inflated Populations in Applications: Examples, Analysis, and Modeling." Jon Scott, a senior with a computer science minor mentored by Dr. Xueqing Chen, presented "Representation Theory of Quivers: Approach from Linear Algebra and Abstract Algebra." The projects were supported by the university's Office of Undergraduate Research; in particular, Eric Lawson and Noah Padgett received a grant from the Research Apprenticeship Program (RAP).

UWW's team of Evan Czysz, Joshua Day, Padgett, and Scott Pegelow placed second out of 10 teams in the "Face-Off" competition, a Jeopardy-style contest. Seven students and 6 faculty/academic staff from the mathematics department attended the conference. UW-Whitewater mathematics instructor Thomas Drucker, past Chair of the WI Section, also gave a presentation on "An Instance of John Wallis."

UW-Whitewater hosted the Section Meetings in 2014 and 2006.

2016 Mathematics Scholarship Awardees

APRIL 21, 2016

Mathematics scholarships for 2016-17 were awarded to continuing students at the Science and Mathematics Scholarship and Awards Ceremony on April 21, 2016. The awardees were:

William Beck Scholarship: Aaron Demers, Claire Long, Daniel Marzahl, Kierstin Sorensen

Clayton Droullard Mathematics Scholarship: Benjamin Pike

Mark and Diane Fiebrink Scholarship: Evan Czysz, Robert (Noah) Padgett, Brent Zey

Carroll and Kay Flanagan Mathematics Scholarship: Collin Kannenberg, Alexa Thornton, Drew Zeimetz, Jordan Van Zummeren

Marian Baldwin Schlicher Scholarship Award: Evan Czysz, Robert (Noah) Padgett, Brent Zey

College-level awards will be presented at a later date. Mathematics students who received awards in this category include Evan Czysz, the Letters and Sciences Promise Endowment; Regan McCauley (math education), the Metcalf Family Scholarship; Robert (Noah) Padgett, the Letters and Sciences Promise Endowment; Brent Zey, the Dahle Family Memorial Scholarship; and Drew Zeimetz, the Chuck and Martha Heinrich Scholarship.


College of Letters & Sciences
Laurentide Hall 4100
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 W. Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790

Resources For

Faculty/Staff Contact

Office of the Dean
Rebecca Reichert
Phone: (262) 472-1621

Student Contact

Advising Office
Phone: (262) 472-1550

Follow Us

  UW-W CLS Meet Your Faculty blog