What is Google Drive
Google Drive replaces and enhances Google Docs, an online document creation and collaboration suite.
When will Google Drive be available?
Faculty and staff that are existing Google Docs users will be required to upgrade to Google Drive on the next login, Those who did not use Google Docs will start with Google Drive.
What should I know before updating to Google Drive?
- Once upgraded to Google Drive there is no downgrade back to Google Docs
- Google Drive offers desktop to cloud two-way synchronization of your files. Meaning deleting a file in the Web interface of Google Drive will delete in your local Google Drive folder on your computer and vice versa. Please note: once deleted, files can not be restored.
- Google Drive's local clients should not be installed on shared workstations where a single account is used to login.
What is different about Google Drive?
- Collections are now called Folders.
- When you first switch to Google Drive, a new folder called My Drive contains:
- Documents that you own or have previously uploaded
- Folders you own and the items contained within (regardless of ownership)
- Note that only items contained in My Drive are synced to your computer and other devices. If you want to sync items from Google Drive on the web that aren't contained in My Drive by default, just drag them to My Drive.
- Other items that would have previously appeared in the Home view can easily be found elsewhere. You can choose different views and filters to see recently opened documents, starred items, documents that have been shared with you, items owned by a particular person, files of a particular type, and more.
For more information on Google Drive go to: Google Drive at UW-Whitewater