« Back to catalog home

Honorary Societies

Alpha Delta Mu is a national social work honor society. The Beta Zeta Chapter, established at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater on April 2, 1980, advances excellence in social work practice and encourages, stimulates and maintains scholarship of the individual members in all fields, particularly in Social Work. Eligible individuals must have completed at least 6 units in social work, be at least junior standing and have earned a minimum overall GPA of 3.50.

Alpha Kappa Delta is a national sociology honor society. The ETA of Wisconsin chapter was established at UW-Whitewater in 1970. AKD is an organization dedicated to the scientific study of social phenomena for the promotion of human welfare. To be eligible for membership, individuals must have completed at least 10 units in sociology, be at least junior standing, and have earned a minimum grade point average of 3.000 in all sociology courses and have a minimum 3.000 GPA overall.

Beta Beta Beta, national honorary biological society, was established at Whitewater in 1960. Beta Beta Beta seeks to encourage scholarly attainment in this field of learning by reserving its membership for those who achieve superior academic accomplishments and who indicate special aptitude for the subject of biology.

Delta Phi Alpha is the National German Honor Society. The Sigma Delta chapter of the society was established at the UW-Whitewater in 2007. Initiates must be at least sophomore standing and have completed a minimum of two years of German at the university level with registration in an advanced course, earn a minimum grade average of 3.33 in all German courses taken as well as a minimum of 2.67 GPA in all courses of study at the university level, and also demonstrate continued interest in the study of German language and literature.

Gamma Theta Upsilon is an international geographical honor society. Gamma Upsilon chapter of the society was established at UW-Whitewater in 1965. The primary function of the society is to further professional interest in geography by affording a common organization for those interested in this field. Full regular membership is limited to persons possessing superior academic records and completion of at least three courses in geography.

Phi Alpha Theta is an international honorary society in history. Nu-Beta chapter was installed at Whitewater in the spring of 1967. Membership is open to students who have completed 12 or more units in history with at least a 3.10 grade point average in all history courses. Initiates must also have a 3.00 grade point average in two-thirds of all remaining courses.

Pi Delta Phi is a national honor society which recognizes outstanding scholarship in French. To be eligible for membership, you must be a senior who has completed three advanced French courses and who has a 3.00 grade point average in French and a 3.00 cumulative grade point average.

Pi Sigma Alpha is the national honorary association for political science. The UW-Whitewater Chapter, Pi Mu, welcomes all students who fulfill the following requirements: 10 units in Political Science, 3.5 grade point average in Political Science courses, and 3.00 grade point average overall.

Psi Chi, the National Honor Society in Psychology, recognizes excellence in scholarship for graduate and undergraduate students who are making the study of psychology one of their major interests. Undergraduates who are elected to Psi Chi must rank not lower than the highest 35 percent of their class in general scholarship and must have demonstrated superior scholarship in psychology.

Sigma Delta Pi, national professional society in Spanish studies, was established at Whitewater in 1966. Eligible for membership are those students who have completed at least three upper-division Spanish courses (300 or 400-level) or have completed two with current enrollment in a third, have attained a 3.00 GPA in Spanish courses and 2.75 overall GPA, and have completed at least three university semesters.

Sigma Pi Sigma is the physics national honor society. Membership is open to all students with an overall G.P.A. of at least 3.00 and a G.P.A. of at least 3.00 in physics, based upon at least three physics classes applicable toward a physics major.

Sigma Tau Delta, the national English Honor Society, is open to English majors and minors who have had at least two courses past English 101 and 102, have at least a B average in English, and rank within the top 35% of their class overall. The society sponsors regional and national conventions, a literary magazine, and writing awards for creative and critical writing.

Top of Page