Regional Literary Award Selection Committee


The purpose of this committee is to select an author as the recipient of the Chancellor's Regional Literary Award. The award honors a living writer who celebrates all that makes the Upper Midwest a unique and vibrant region. Awardees must demonstrate a regional connection to the Upper Midwest in his/her published works of prose, poetry, nonfiction and drama.

The committee meets throughout the year to review nominations for the award, select the winner, discuss event responsibilities, and conduct a post-event review. Committee involvement requires that members read all books nominated for the award, typically during December and January. The award recipient is chosen in February or March. That fall, the Chancellor's Regional Literary Award-winning author is invited to campus to participate in celebratory events, a book reading and signing, and interactions with faculty, staff, students, and community members.


Membership is determined through an open call, if needed, and appointed by the Chancellor.  The Special Assistant to the Chancellor serves as the committee chair. 


Membership Consists of:

  • Rebecca Reichert, Chair, Office of the Chancellor
  • Mary Pinkerton
  • Praveen Parboteeah
  • Roni Telfer
  • Sara Kuhl
  • Erin Celello
  • Jane Crouch
  • Sharon Geibel
  • Deborah (Deb) Gilbert
  • Tamara Hauck
  • James (Jim) Kates
  • F. Peter Wagner

Last revision 12/19/2014