Updating Faculty Tutorial
Depending on your user access, you might not have access to everything you see in this
tutorial. Rest assured you will have access to everywhere you are directed to go to.
1.
Navigation Bar
The main navigation bar in collage will have
Home
,
Site
,
Content
, etc. Click on
the tab labeled
Content
to start moving through collage.
2.
Navigation Submenus
Once you are in the
Content
menu
(Content in the Navigation menu will be
highlighted), you want to click on the
down arrow next to
Deploy Folders
to
activate the drop-down menu.
From this drop-down menu, select the option
Contribution
. This will take you to
the Contribution section of collage.
3.
Finding the directory folder
In the left column, you will want to click the plus
sign next to the folder
cls
to display all the
subdirectories. From here, you will want to select
the
directory
folder to bring up the list of all faculty
members.
When you select the folder, on the right side of the
page a list of all the subfolder and files will appear.
From here you can either add a page, delete and
page or edit a page. The next three sections will
take you through all of your available options.
pg_0002
Adding a member to the directory
Once in the specific folder, you can add your page to the site. First thing is to click on
New Document
in the Content menu.
A new window will pop up asking you a few questions before continuing. What you
select is
very important
.
You have five different layouts to choose from:
cls_standard
,
cls_1Col2Col
,
cls_staff
,
cls_course
, and
cls_academics
.
Choose
cls_staff
!
After the layout, you need to give the page a name. The name needs to follow the format
of the other names:
last name then an underscore and the first name
. There is also a
format for the description:
last name then a comma and a space and the first name
.
pg_0003
Editing the page
This window is where you put in the relevant information your page needs. The first six
(6) lines are required to have information (text) in them. The last section, biography, is
not a necessary component.
The six sections are all single lined entries and should not have any text formatting done.
First Name:
Enter the employee’s first name
Last Name
:
Enter the employee’s last name.
Job Title
:
Describe the employee’s job position
Phone #
:
Enter the contact number
Email
:
Enter the employees email by click the
Link
button and then the
External
tab. Look for
the email address in the list (If you don’t see it, you’ll need to select
new link
to add the
address). When the address is selected, enter the email as text in the
Text
box.
pg_0004
Adding a new email
Enter the employees name under
Name
.
Select
mailto:
in the drop down menu
and enter the employees NetID in the
second line.
When you’re done, click OK.
Biography
You can enter any biographical information about the employee you want here. You can
also add images and lists if you wish.
Metadata (the 2
nd
to last step)
Click the
Metadata
button in the upper-left hand side of
the window to fill out the forms used to categorize all the
faculty of each department.
In this window, you need to select which
department the employee is employed
under. This allows the employee to
appear on that specific department’s
faculty page and not another.
When you’ve selected the department,
just click OK. Then you can save the
page and exit the window.
pg_0005
Saving and Checking in your Document
When you are all done editing the information in your document,
you will want to click the
Save
button then click the
Exit
button to
leave this window. This will ensure that your document is saved
upon exiting.
Once you click
Exit
on the contribution window, you will be back to
the main window mode of Collage. In the folder, you should see your page appear on the list.
Your document should have your login name after it (in the
Checked Out
column). The first
step is to click your name, then
OK
in the window that pops up to check in the document.
Next, you want to click on the
icon
in the
Version
column (if you just made your page you should see a
1). Clicking the icon will tell the software to accept
the latest version with all the changes. All versions of
a page are saved in Collage so if you ever need go
back to a pervious version, contact the webmaster and the web team will do their best to help
you.
When the icon is gone, your newest version of the document was accepted and will be displayed
when Collage updates the site.
Delete a File
Check the box next to the file you want to delete. Near the top of your browser, you should see a
red “X” with
Delete
underneath it. Make sure you really want to delete the page and click the
OK buttons until the file is gone.