Minutes

for the Physics Department meeting to be held Tuesday, Apr 14, 2015 in UH168.

Present: Benjamin, Boukahil, Constantinescu, Nawash, Rybski, Yavuzcetin **Absent:** Sahyun

I. Call to order at 5:14 pm

II. Boukahil/Rybski moved approval of minutes from previous (3/10) meeting. Motion passed.

III. Old Business

- a. Andrew Eagon has been selected for the new College of L&S Dahle scholarship. Jordan Graham will be awarded the Fok scholarship; Chris Marshall will be awarded the Physics Excellence award, and Anthony Chan will receive the Upham Award.
- b. Please let Benjamin know about any other equipment needed for service and supplies budget.
- c. Other old business

IV. New Business

- a. The department discussed issues related to the Progress Report on Recommended Actions from Audit & Review that is due to Joan Cook and Dean Travis following our past review.
- b. After end of classes there will be an approximately day long meeting on Sun, May 17. Benjamin reminded the department to check with him **before** scheduling any travel during the week of Aug 24-28 (particularly Tues/Thurs).
- c. Benjamin asked all department members to provide a list of possible curricular changes for our department to consider. At the next meeting, we will have a table of co-req/pre-reqs and course descriptions for this discussion.
- d. There was no other new business.

V. Announcements

- a. Chair's Announcements
 - i. General Announcements
 - 1. Preview Day (Fri, Apr 17 @ 9:50am) will be covered by Constantinescu and PIP day (Sat, Apr 18 @ 2:30) will be covered by Sahyun (with Rybski as a back-up).

- 2. Thanks to Steve Sahyun for our first departmental MATLAB session.
- ii. Administrative Council Report was postponed.
- b. College and University Committee Reports were postponed.
- VI. Boukahil/Nawash moved adjournment at 6:24 pm.

Submitted by B. Benjamin, secretary of the day

Cc: Dean David Travis