College of Business and Economics

UW-Whitewater Collegiate DECA students excel at state event and qualify for international competition

April 01, 2021

The UW-Whitewater Collegiate DECA chapter participated in the State Career Development Conference on March 19 and 20. Adjusting for the virtual format, the conference focused on competitive case study and prepared project events. No Chapter of the Year or Student of the Year awards were given out for 2021.

UW-Whitewater had 28 students participate, and all students qualified to compete in the DECA International Career Development Conference on April 17 through 20. The students earned a combined total of 47 medals and plaques in their events, including four first-place awards, seven second-place awards, and six third-place awards.

The students' events and standings are noted below. Congratulations to all who participated and persevered throughout the last year!

Corporate Finance:

  • Brendan Clementi (2nd place)
  • Sammi Nelson (national qualifier)

Emerging Technology Marketing Strategies:

  • Michelle Anderson (1st place)

Financial Accounting:

  • Payton Munson (2nd place)
  • Anthony Gailloreto (national qualifier)
  • Steven Hammer (national qualifier)

Hotel & Lodging:

  • Mary Domich (1st place)
  • Devontae Sisk (national qualifier)

Human Resources:

  • Tayler Jones (1st place)
  • Grady Gruchow (3rd place)

Marketing Management (Group A):

  • Tori Arjani (2nd place)

Marketing Management (Group B):

  • Evan Nightingale (2nd place)
  • Melanie Thiede (national qualifier)

Advertising Campaign:

  • Tayler Jones (1st place)
  • Melanie Thiede (2nd place)
  • Lydia Forney (3rd place)

International Marketing:

  • Team of John Weber and David Zehner (2nd place)

Sports & Entertainment Marketing:

  • Team of Keelin Pierner and Kyle Spivey (3rd place)

Event Planning:

  • Team of Lauren Hanson and Treise Langhammer (3rd place)
  • Team of Kelsey Clark and Lauren Reid (national qualifier)

Business Ethics:

  • Team of Lauren Power and Natalie Sankey (3rd place)

Marketing Communications:

  • Team of Zach Zaharias and Amanda Patrick (2nd place)
  • Team of Roma Luedtke and Emma Sinden (3rd place)