Counselor Education

Apply Now Learn More

Counselor Education

Contact Us


Winther Hall 6035










Recent Happenings

Dr. Carrie Merino COEPS Research Award Winner

We are pleased to announce Dr. Carrie Merino as the 2020 College of Education and Professional Studies Research Award winner. Carrie has since been nominated for the 2021 University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Outstanding Research Award. The Outstanding Research Award honors a faculty member each year for making significant advances to knowledge, technique, or creative expression in his/her professional field. Congratulations to Carrie on her award and nomination!  

Dr. Jennifer Betters-Bubon 2021 Research & Professional Writing Award

We are pleased to announce the 2020-2021 "Research & Professional Writing" award winner, Jennifer Betters-Bubon! Jen co-authored the "Making MTSS Work" book to help school counselors better understand multi-tiered systems of support, and provide much needed examples of best practices. This publication has been printed by the American School Counselor Association as part of its ASCA National Model Publication series, meaning it will become a valuable resource for school counselors across the country! Thank you for your leadership and training on MTSS Jen!
Read more about Jennifer's nomination and award in her press release here:

Dr. Jennifer Betters-Bubon's 2019 publication of The School Counselor's Guide to Multi-Tiered Systems of Support

We are proud to announce that Dr. Jennifer Betters-Bubon, Associate Professor and Program Coordinator in Counselor Education, recenlty published The School Counselor's Guide to Multi-Tiered Systems of Support, on the role of school counselors in systemic school change. She also presented at the American School Counseling Association (ASCA) conference in Boston on July 1st, 2019. Congratulations, Jen! 

Dr. Amy Barth 2019 Reciever of the Humanistic Educator/Supervisor Award

Dr. Amy Barth, Assistant Professor in Counselor Education, was selected as this year's recipient of the Humanistic Educator/Supervisor Award from the Association for Humanistic Counseling. The Humanistic Educator/Supervisor Award was established to recognize an AHC member who demonstrates a humanistic philosophy of teaching or supervision, resulting in a significant impact on the development of students/new professionals through teaching, advising, supervision, and/or mentoring. Amy was honored at the AHC annual conference on May 30th, 2019 in Minneapolis, MN. Congratulations, Amy!

Dr. Brenda Rust O'Beirne First Receiver of the David Van Doren Leadership and Service Award 

We are proud to announce that Department Chair and Associate Professor Dr. Brenda Rust O'Beirne recieved the first anual David Van Doren Leadership and Service award at the Fall 2018 Wisconsin Counseling Association Conference. We are so proud of the work she has done and continues to do! 

UW-Whitewater Counselor Education Program Recently Recognized for Program of Excellence 

We are proud to announce our acheivement of the 2016 Teaching Excellence Award, voted by the University of Wisconsin Board of Regents!  Read More ›