Current Graduate Council

Graduate Council - January 2011 Minutes


January 27, 2011
PRESENT: Marshall Anderson, Scott Bradley, Chris Calvert-Minor, Pavan Chennamaneni, John Chenoweth, Will Drago, Thomas Jeffery, Rashiqa Kamal, Michaela Mack, Pete Mesner, Christine Neddenriep, Carol Normand, Anene Okocha, Shannon Stuart, Alvaro Taveira, S-A Welch, Michael Wessely, Kelly Witte, and John Zbikowski.
ABSENT: Paul Adogamhe, Glenn Hayes, Denton Marks, Michael Oldani, Manuel Ossers, Margaret Phillips, Tim Reutebuch, Steven Sahyun, Zhengnan, Shi, Marke Schroeder, Rebecca Shrum, *Ashley Smith, Lauren Smith, and Max White.

Announcements for January 27 Graduate Council

  1. The application deadline for spring Graduate Research Grants is February 15th.
  2. A copy of the Spring 2011 enrollment report was distributed with the agenda.
  3. Separate Spring 2011 Graduation Ceremony for Graduate Students (Saturday, 14 May, 3:00p, Young Auditorium)
  4. UW-Whitewater to Host UW System Graduate Deans Meeting (13 April 2011)
  5. Graduate Dean John Stone also Temporarily Serving as Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
  6. National Search for Associate Dean in School of Graduate Studies and Continuing Education to Commence in Spring 2011 (attached description)

The lone new business agenda item was approved.

  1. Curricular Action: New Course from the Department of Communication: COMM 711 Instructional Communication

Respectfully submitted,

Sally Lange