Current Graduate Council

Graduate Council - March 2014 Minutes



March 6, 2014


PRESENT: Paul Ambrose, Sang Choi, Corey Davis, Michael Gueno, Glenn Hayes, Denton Marks, Kim Naber, Carol Normand, Manuel Ossers, Shannon Stuart, Kelly Witte, Ozgur Yavuzcetin, John Zbikowski, and Wenquan Zhang.


ABSENT: Paul Adogamhe, Marshall Anderson, Nick Bentz, *Scott Bradley, Jessica Callaway, Jeff Cook, *Shannon Cummins, Colin De Mers, Will Drago, John Frye, Sarah Hessenauer, Kimberly Knesting-Lund, *Pete Mesner, Amber Moulton, Lopa Mukherjee, Mark Schroeder, Lauren Smith, Gautam Wadhwa and Jianzhou Zhu.


GUEST: John Chenoweth, Carol Elsen, Seth Meisel, and Alvaro Taveira


*Previously notified.


The March 6, 2014, meeting was called to order at 2:15 p.m. by Dean Stone. John Chenoweth sighed with relief when he saw that there were still refreshments served for such a short meeting.


Michael Gueno moved, with a second by Kelly Witte, to approve the minutes of the February 6, 2014 meeting. With no comments or corrections, the motion carried.



  1. John Stone added a bit of variety to the meeting as he quizzed the Council on the top feeder schools for UW-Whitewater's Graduate School programs. Stakes were high as top prizes included Graduate Studies sticky note pads and Summer Session frisbees.


Information Only Item


Glenn Hayes moved to approve the Information Only item on the agenda. Carol Normand seconded the motion. The motion carried.

  1. Curricular Action: Course Deletion from the Department of Management: MANAGEMNT 721: Organizational Behavior

Business Items


Denton Marks moved to approve the lone business item on the agenda. Carol Normand seconded the motion. With no questions or concerns, the motion carried.

  1. Curricular Action: Grade Basis Change from the Department of ITSCM: DBA 800: Seminar in Contemporary Business

John Zbikowski then moved, with a second by Kelly Witte, to approve the Administrative Action item on the agenda. The Environmental Safety and Health department and programs will be moved from the College of Education and Professional Studies to the College of Business and Economics, effective July 1, 2014. The motion was approved.

With no further discussion, Denton Marks, disappointed that he did not win a prize in the quiz, moved to adjourn the meeting. Kelly Witte, who was a winner, seconded the motion.  The meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,


Sally Lange