Three faculty members win Fulbright awards

May 16, 2012

Helena AddaeJames JaffeCarol Scovotti


Click on the photos to read about each individual award.

Three University of Wisconsin-Whitewater faculty members won prestigious Fulbright Scholar awards for 2012-2013, the most in campus history.

James Jaffe, professor of history in the College of Letters and Sciences, won a Fulbright Distinguished Chair award, one of only 40 in the country.

Carol Scovotti, associate professor of marketing, and Helena Addae, associate professor of management, won awards from the core Fulbright Scholar Program, which sends 800 U.S. professors and professionals abroad each year.  Scovotti and Addae are faculty members in the College of Business and Economics.

"The awards are highly competitive," said Denise Ehlen, director of Research and Sponsored Programs. "Selection represents international recognition of your contributions to the field and your ability to create value and impact at the host institution."  

Participation in the Fulbright program aligns with UW-Whitewater's mission to serve as a diverse, respected and empowering institution of higher education.  

"Our Fulbright Scholars bring their unique experiences back to the classroom and the campus community, enhancing our intercultural awareness, allowing us to be more engaged citizens and preparing our students to succeed in an increasingly globalized workforce," Ehlen said.


Sara Kuhl

Jeff Angileri

Fulbright map


The Fulbright Scholar Program award catalog for 2013-2014 is now available. Faculty and staff may submit proposals for lecturing and research awards in 125 countries.

More information >>