UW-Whitewater celebrates 146th anniversary with Founders Day awards

    April 10, 2014

    A devoted volunteer and supporter and five alumni who have achieved significant professional success will be honored as the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater celebrates its 146th anniversary.

    The annual Founders Day event also includes the presentation of scholarships to outstanding UW-Whitewater juniors. The event will be held at 11 a.m. Saturday, April 26, in the James R. Connor University Center.

    At the event, Francine Pease, a Whitewater resident and supporter of the university, will receive the S.A. White award.

    Pease worked as a speech/language pathologist and spent a lifetime helping others. She has devoted her time and resources to numerous important causes. At UW-Whitewater she has endowed two scholarships; in the College of Arts and Communication and the College of Education and Professional Studies. She also serves on the Young Auditorium Advisory Board.

    The award is named for Samuel A. White, a judge and state lawmaker who in 1868 was instrumental in the founding of the Whitewater Normal School, which later became UW-Whitewater.

    The Outstanding Recent Alumnus award this year goes to Matthew Bartel, Milwaukee, a 2002 business graduate, who devised a digital, Web-based solution that revolutionized the process of course evaluations. He formed a company to market his idea, Digital Measures.

    Recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Awards for Professional Achievement include:

    Danny Andersen, Madison, a 1974 graduate in accounting. Andersen is director and CPA with Baker Tilly Virchow Krause and has been serving public and private companies since 1974 while maintaining a strong family life. Andersen has spent his entire career in public accounting and he has served many life sciences and technology-based companies and venture capital funds. He is also active in the organizations that support the tech community.

    Michael Cesario, Palm City, Fla., a 1971 graduate who creates the trademark uniforms of many of the country's finest bands, drum corps and color guards through FJM Inc. He is a leader in his field and has received wide recognition for his work. Cesario has shared his knowledge and expertise extensively, through seminars around the country and at Purchase College in New York, where he is professor emeritus.

    Julie Anding, Milwaukee, who graduated from UW-Whitewater in 1990 with a psychology degree and in 1992 with a master's degree in guidance and counseling, is senior director of talent and learning with Harley-Davidson. She leads a team responsible for talent acquisition, talent management, learning and development and coaching and creative services. Anding embodies lifelong learning and growth, also holding a Ph.D. in human and organization systems and a Master of Arts degree from Fielding Graduate University of Santa Barbara, Calif.

    Bob Berezowitz, Darien, who graduated with a bachelor's degree in education in 1967 and a master's degree in education in 1977. Berezowitz left a deep legacy at UW-Whitewater, first as a student and All-American athlete and later as an instructor and coach who led the Warhawks to eight Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference titles and five NCAA Division III playoff berths.

    This year's Outstanding Juniors at UW-Whitewater will receive $1,000 scholarships. They are:

    • Taylor N. McDarison, Arts and Communication
    • Jessica S. Sabey, Business and Economics
    • Brianna R. Riley, Education and Professional Studies
    • Cassandra K. Steiner, Letters and Sciences

    media contact

    Jeff Angileri

    Sara Kuhl


    Marketing and Media Relations
    Hyer Hall 403
    University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
    800 W. Main Street
    Whitewater, WI 53190-1790
    Directory Assistance: (262) 472-1234

    Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel Top 100 Workplaces 2015

    Follow Us

    • Flickr
    • Flickr