University Staff Council

Awards and Recognition

Call for Nominations:
2022 University Staff Excellence Awards

We will begin accepting nominations for the 2022 University Staff Excellence Awards starting February 1, 2022. Click this LINK to nominate a University Staff .  These awards recognize members of the UW-W University Staff for their work and involvement on campus.  Two awards will be presented to selected nominees during the 2022 spring semester. The University Staff Council Employee Recognition Committee will review nominations received by the designated deadline (below) and select recipients for these awards.


Eligible individuals must be members of the UW-Whitewater University Staff classification (former Classified Staff). If you're unsure if the person you'd like to nominate is University Staff or not, please call Human Resources at x1024 or email Give them the employee's name and ask what that person's classification is. If that person is Academic Staff (including non-instructional) or Faculty, please visit for more information.

Instructions for Submitting Nomination Materials:

A nomination form must be completed by a UW-W employee (colleague, supervisor or other employee)Access the nomination form directly through the online form available February 1.  If additional people support your nomination, please have them fill out the form separately because multiple nominations will increase the nominee’s score. The committee will rate each nominee on a scale of 1-5 for each category on the form based on the information you provide, so provide as much information as you can to assist in scoring appropriately.  

All nomination forms received between February 1 and March 11, 2022 will be considered for the 2022 award.  Nominations will be reviewed beginning March 14, 2022. Selected recipients will be notified by the University Staff Council Employee Recognition Committee.

Award presentations will be made to the selected recipients.  Details will be available closer to the event date.

NOTE:  Any questions regarding this process may be directed to: USC Employee Recognition Committee Chairperson, Gretchen Kinney at 262-472-4677,

Past Award Recipients

Name/Department Name/Department
Amber Kammeraad Karen Brueggeman
Biology University Health & Counseling Services

Name/Department Name/Department
Julia Rowehl Grechen Kinney
Chemistry College of Education and Professional Studies

Name/Department Name/Department
Wes Enterline Lori Trimble
Facilities Planning and Management Social Work

Tricia Borchardt (retired) Edward Kos
Computer Science Facilities Planning and Management

Melissa Walton Mande Zierath
Center for Global Education Sociology, Criminology, Anthropology
Melissa Walton Mande Zierath

Name/Department Name/Department
Kelsey Servi Kate Bramann
Police Department Andersen Library
Kelsey Servi Kate Bramann
Janice Nordin (retired) Miguel Aranda
Registrar's Office Undergraduate Research and University Honors
Janice Nordin Miguel Aranda
Eunice Lehner Ayn Hess
Career and Leadership Development History
Eunice Lehner Ayn Hess
Julie Marino Nick Ciesinski
Curriculum and Instruction iCIT
Julie Marino Nick Ciensinski

Save the date!

Join us when we celebrate University Staff retirees and this year's Excellence Award recipients. The tentative date for the recognition dinner is May 12th. Details will be posted once they are finalized.