Warhawks in elite company at national economics competition

November 29, 2017

Photos by Craig Schreiner

Fed Challenge studentsFrom left, students Ron Tittle, Alexandre Vieira, Taylor Griffith, Mark Ellis and Alejandro Esquivel practice their discussion and analysis of economic indicators in a classroom at Hyland Hall on Monday, November 20, 2017.

Economics students at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater competed against some of the world's most prestigious universities at the 14th Annual College Fed Challenge in Washington, D.C. on Dec. 1.

UW-Whitewater is the first-ever Wisconsin university to advance to this national event. To do so, the Warhawks defeated Northwestern University, the University of Chicago and Marquette University at the Chicago Federal Reserve Bank on Nov. 13, 2017, to become the regional champions.

The Warhawks competed in the finals, which were held in the Board Room at the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., as the capstone to five district competitions held around the country, against regional winners Harvard University, Pace University, Princeton University and Virginia Commonwealth University.

Pace University took first place in the national competition, which encourages students to learn about the U.S. economy, monetary policymaking, and the role of the Federal Reserve System. Harvard University took second place, and UW-Whitewater joined Princeton University and Virginia Commonwealth University in receiving honorable mentions.

Managed by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the College Fed Challenge is an academic competition designed to bring real-world economics into the classroom. Teams analyze economic and financial conditions and determine how they may impact monetary policy. They are scored based on a 15-minute presentation and question-and-answer session with judges. It is an exceptional experience in which students build critical thinking, teamwork and public speaking skills.

Fed Challenge facultyThe UW-Whitewater student presenters include:
- Mark Ellis of Buffalo Grove, Illinois
- Alejandro Esquivel of Milwaukee, Wisconsin
- Taylor Griffith of Lake Elsinore, California
- Ron Tittle of Crystal Lake, Illinois
- Alex Vieira of Brookfield, Wisconsin

Non-presenting team members include:
- Casey Russell of Belleville, Wisconsin
- Alujjage Pasan Samaranayake of Gonapola Junction, Sri Lanka
- Sean Spangard of Crystal Lake, Illinois

Faculty members Yamin Ahmad, Stuart Glosser (emeritus), Nick Guo and Eylem Ersal serve as team coaches.

team in D.C.