Q: When will parking permits be available?
A: Commuters and Residents: Parking permits will be available for purchase on-line beginning in August. An email will be sent prior to August, briefly explaining how parking will be assigned to the parking lot closest to their residence hall on a first come, first serve basis. Permits may then be picked up on move in day at Parking Services office located in the Visitor's Center.
Q: Why are there different types of parking permits and different fees?
A: There are approximately 5,000 parking spaces on campus, but with over 12,000 students (3,800 living on campus) and 1,200 faculty and staff, a system of allocating the available parking spaces is needed. On campus students generally require a parking space 24 hours a day. On campus students are assigned to a parking lot near their residence halls, and are expected to walk to classes and other campus destinations. Commuting students use parking lots near the academic buildings, and generally they are on campus for shorter periods of time. Because of this turnover, a parking space in a commuter lot generates approximately the same amount of revenue as a parking space in a resident lot.
Q: What are the payment options?
A: Students will have the option to pay with credit card (MasterCard, Visa or Discover) or the fee can be added to your Student Account.
A: Faculty/Staff will have the option to pay with credit card (MasterCard, Visa or Discover) or by payroll deduction.
Q: Where does the money go?
A: The revenue is used to pay all costs of providing parking at the University. In accordance with Wisconsin statutes, parking utilities on University of Wisconsin campuses are considered auxiliary enterprises, and are operated in a manner similar to a non-profit business. The parking program is prohibited from using tuition or tax generated revenue. Operating costs include new construction, maintenance, staff salaries, debt service and other routine expenses.
Q: Why are citations issued?
A: Citations issued for "no permit" or "overtime meter" are a matter of fairness to those students and others that have purchased a parking permit or paid meter fees, and as an incentive to comply with campus parking regulations. Parking Services is also charged with maintaining safe and orderly conditions for traffic and pedestrian movement on campus. Vehicles cannot be allowed to restrict the movement of normal traffic or emergency vehicles.
Q: What happens if a parking citation goes unpaid?
A: If a citation is unpaid, a late fee is added after seven (7) days, and a notice of unpaid citation is emailed or mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle. If it remains unpaid, 30 days after the citation was issued an administrative fee is added and a second notice is emailed or mailed, to the registered owner of the vehicle. After 60 days from the date of the citation, an additional $10.00 fee is added and the license plate is referred to the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles. The DMV suspends the registration for the vehicle with that license plate, and will refuse to renew registrations for vehicles with the same owner. Notices are mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes. The additional fees added to the fine amount are an incentive to pay citations promptly and to recover the costs of collection efforts.
Vehicles that accumulate 3 or more unpaid citations will be booted or towed from campus at the operator's expense if the vehicle is found parked in violation of campus parking regulations.
Q: What do I do if I borrow a different car, or have a loaner because my car is being repaired?
A: The parking permit may be transferred and displayed on any vehicle as long the permit is registered to that vehicle and the permit holder is a current student/employee of the University. To update license plate information on your account, contact the Parking Office at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Q: Is there any time that parking permits and meter fees are NOT enforced?
A: From 5 p.m. on Fridays through 11:00 p.m. on Sundays. Any University recognized holiday.
Q: What if I only need to park on campus occasionally?
A: Temporary parking permits are available, at a cost of $5.00 for a 24 hour period. Permits may be purchased at the Visitor Center. Walk in, drive up, or use the 24 hour vending machine located near the drive up window.