College of Arts and Communication
Back to directory

Diana Shapiro
Assistant Professor

Diana Shapiro profile picture

Accomplished soloist and chamber musician, Dr. Shapiro performed solo and festival appearances across three continents. As a part of the Varshavski-Shapiro Piano Duo, she won numerous national and international competitions in Poland, Italy, Israel, and Czech Republic. In the United States, the duo became a winner of Murray Dranoff Two Piano Competition, was awarded a Career Grant from “Salon de Virtuousi”, and won the Astral Artists’ National Auditions. Dr. Shapiro has enjoyed regular appearances with leading instrumentalists and singers in Israel and the USA. Her performances were selected for the Chamber Music America National Showcase. Dr. Shapiro recorded for the Bavarian Radio, the Radio 4 of Hong Kong, the Israeli National Radio and TV, and the New York’s WQXR and produced a CD in collaboration with the Wisconsin Public Radio. The performances were also broadcast live on WPR and recorded for a documentary film, presented on Wisconsin television. 

Dr. Shapiro regularly presents her research at state and regional conferences, adjudicates at competitions and festivals, and gives masterclasses across the Midwest. Dedicated pedagogue, her students won state and national competitions, presented at state conferences, and performed at the Carnegie Hall.  Dr. Shapiro received her Bachelor and Master degrees from the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance, where she studied with the legendary Israeli duo Alexander Tamir–Bracha Eden. In the US, she continued her education under the renowned American pianist Victor Rosenbaum and completed Doctoral degree at the University of Wisconsin-Madison under Prof. Martha Fischer (piano) and Dr. Jessica Johnson (pedagogy).  

Dr. Diana Shapiro currently serves as an Assistant Professor of Piano at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater where she teaches applied and class piano and piano-related courses. Previously, she was faculty of the Silver Lake College and the University of Minnesota-Duluth.