Women's Issues Committee

International Women's Day

March 8, 2018

The Women’s Issues Committee will be hosting the thirteenth annual Women in Leadership reception, honoring outstanding women on the UW-Whitewater campus. The event will be held on Thursday, March 8 at 3:30pm in the Fern Young Terrace. The leadership reception is part of the campus celebration of Women’s History Month.  Any UW-Whitewater woman who has exemplified leadership qualities on campus, and/or in her community is eligible for this award. 

Please take a moment to think of the contributions made by a woman you know at UW-Whitewater.  The criteria for the leadership recognition award are listed on the form below.  Women who have been recognized in past years are not eligible (A list of women who were nominated in the past may be found here: Awardees 2004-2017


To make a nomination, complete the form below and include a nomination letter no more than one page in length outlining the nominee’s qualifications.  Feel free to nominate as many women as you wish; a separate nomination form and letter must be submitted for each.  The deadline for nominations is January 25, 2017.  Final selections will be made by the Women’s Issues Committee.


 A complete list of awardees from 2004 to the present can be found here.  The nomination form can be found here : 2018 Nomination Form 


The Women's Issues Committee is pleased to recognize the following UW-Whitewater women:

    • Berenice Beltran-Maldonado, Social Work and Spanish Undergraduate Student
    • Dr. Lana Collet-Klingenberg, Department of Special Education
    • Kathy Craney, Career and Leadership Development
    • Dr. Shannon Cummins, Department of Marketing
    • Dr. Shreyasee Das, Department of Economics
    • Melissa Deller, Department of Sociology, Criminology and Anthropology
    • Dr. Theresa DeWalt, University Health and Counseling Services
    • Joan Fox-Drake, College of Letters and Sciences
    • Soledad Gonzales, Educational Leadership Cooperative Program Graduate Student
    • Taylor Griffith, Economics and Mathematics Undergraduate Student
    • Dr. Rashiqa Kamal, Department of Finance and Business Law
    • Bethann Handzlik Moran, Department of Art and Design
    • Dr. Christine Neddenriep, Department of Psychology,/li>
    • Dr. Brenda Rust O'Beirne, Department of Counselor Education
    • Dr. Elizabeth Ogunsola, Human Resources and Diversity, retired
    • Debby Piper, Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
    • Kim Rusk, Department of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Coaching
    • Kelly Schad, Resident Advisor and Psychology Undergraduate Student

Pictured above are the 2017 Women in Leadership Awardees and event organizers.

Gender Equity Report

Women's Issues CommitteeIn the spring of 2008, the Chancellor and the Provost authorized and funded the Gender Equity Report. Faculty members from the Women's Issues Committee collaborated with representatives from university administration and the Office of Institutional Research to form the Gender Equity Task Force in order to complete this report. The goal of the project is to initiate improved gender equity for students, staff, faculty, and administrators across campus.
Read the 2009 Gender Equity Report

UW-W Breastfeeding Policy

A Lactation room is now available in Hyland Hall 1006 - To register for access to the room, click on the following link http://www.uww.edu/uhcs/health-services/breastfeeding-policy-and-lactation-room. Information on the campus breastfeeding policy may be found on the Human Resources website at http://www.uww.edu/adminaffairs/hr/.

About the Committee

The Women's Issues Committee promotes interest in women and women's issues on campus by

      • Providing educational programming to celebrate women and their accomplishments e.g. sponsoring Women's History Month), combating sexism, and by encouraging content on women be included throughout the curriculum.
      • Conducting research to investigate the status of women on campus, their concerns, and their needs.

Women's Issues Committee meetings are held the second Thursday of each month from 3:45-5:00 p.m.

Membership - Criteria for membership is interest in women's issues and willingness to participate actively. Membership is voluntary and final number of potential members flexible. Volunteer members should represent the following areas:

    • Women's Studies Department Chairperson (permanent chair of the committee)
    • Department of Athletics
    • Wellness Center
    • Academic Staff Assembly
    • Women's Center
    • Children's Center
    • Inclusive Excellence
    • Student Affairs
    • Student Community
    • LGBT Task Force
    • Members at Large
    • Other Constituencies

Women In Leadership Awards

Contact Us

Women's Issues Committee

c/o Janay Alston/Ellie Schemenauer
(262) 472-5235/(262) 472-2872
Whitewater, WI 53190


College of Letters & Sciences
Laurentide Hall 4100
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 W. Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790

Resources For

Faculty/Staff Contact

Office of the Dean
Rebecca Reichert
Phone: (262) 472-1621
E-mail: reicherr@uww.edu

Student Contact

Advising Office
Phone: (262) 472-1550
E-mail: lsadvise@uww.edu

Follow Us

  UW-W CLS Meet Your Faculty blog