Adult Student Outreach
Header Image Component Alt Text

News and Events


2022-2023 Ernella Hunziker Scholarship Recipients

We are happy to announce and recognize the exceptional women selected to receive the Ernella Hunziker Scholarship Fund for Returning Women. This scholarship was established in 1991 by Dr. Ernella Hunziker who taught Art at the university for 27 years prior to her retirement in 1990. 

To be eligible for this scholarship these women met the following criteria:

  • They are at least 24 years old and working toward their first undergraduate degree.
  • They have completed 45 credits with 12 of the credits earned at UW-Whitewater.
  • They have earned a 3.0 Cumulative Grade Point Average and are actively involved in their community and campus.


Erin Bakken - Finance

Dorothy Beechler - Social Work

Danielle Beschta - Elementary Education

Samantha Ewens - Occupational Safety

Alaina Ford - General Business

Sydney Frey - Special Education

Veena Johnson - Communications

Jessica Lingenberg - Special Education

Jennifer Szymkowiak - Early Childhood Education

Dawn Vanderhoof - Marketing

Jacyln Wolf - Corporate and Health Communication

College Factual ranks UW-Whitewater in top 10% of best schools for nontraditional students in the nation

From the Adult Student Welcome through graduation, UW-Whitewater supports and recognizes students with pre-enrollment advising, scholarships for adult learners, dedicated student services coordinator, resources for veteran students, on-campus childcare, annual awards including outstanding adult learner and outstanding faculty CARE award for serving adult students, and Nontraditional Student Week.

Read More:

November 7-11, 2022 National Nontraditional Student Week

It is National Nontraditional Student Week on campus. A time to recognize and celebrate the many accomplishments and contributions our returning adult students bring to our campus. Your drive and intellectual engagement is impressive as you work hard to juggle school, work, family, and other obligations to accomplish your educational goals.

Kudos – Award Selections

Congratulations to the Nontraditional/adult students receiving the Outstanding Adult Student Award for 2022. This year’s student recipients are:

Ashleigh Klaver-General Business

Michelle Andries-Economics

Mark Zimmerman-BSE History, Adaptive Learning Certificate

Briahna LaFave-Women’s and Gender Studies, Creative Writing Minor

Megan Ryan-Social Work, Women’s and Gender Studies Minor

Maria Aslani-Kerzman-Social Work, Human Services Foundation Minor

Savannah Thomas-Environmental Science

Emily Weaver-General Management

Zicela Schroder-Early Childhood Education

This award recognizes the student’s dedication to academics and the positive influence they make in the college classroom.

Congratulations to the CARE (Concern for Adults Returning to Education) Award winners for 2022. This award recognizes faculty or staff members that have provided extraordinary support and encouragement to returning adult students transitioning back into the college classroom. This year’s CARE recipients are:

Teri Alder-Mathematics

Karl Brown-History

Outstanding Adult Student Award Winners (Rocio Aburto, left and Adelaida Sisk, right)