Resources for:

    Dean's Advisory Board

    Dean's Advisory Board

    What is The Dean's Advisory Board?

    According to David Travis, Dean of the College of Letters and Sciences, the Advisory Board will help the College determine if our planning is realistic, our vision is attainable within a given time period, and if we are asking enough of ourselves.

    The critical evaluation and valuable advice provided by members is an important dialogue with alumni and friends. The Dean's Advisory Board was established to carry out, on an ongoing basis, the functions of external review and recommendations on the programs and potential of the College of Letters and Sciences, while serving the added function of interpreting the College's programs externally.  Please contact Tamara Hauck if you would like more information about the Dean's Advisory Board.


    Dean's Advisory Board members are friends and alumni of the University. They are civic leaders, individuals with expertise and knowledge that can be extremely beneficial to students and faculty in L & S, and their relationship to the college is one of dedication and affection. Ideally, the size of the board will be between 20-30 persons. The membership of the board will include civic and community leaders.

    Board members represent a variety of careers, backgrounds, and expertise. An effort will be made to include diversity within the membership, male-female balance, and desirable ratio of local to non-local members.

    Membership Roster

    Fred Arndt '70 - Retired Director of HR - McKesson Corp
    John Beckstedt '71
    - Executive Managing Director - When2Trade Group
    Ron Binning '70 - Former Owner/President - Binning & Dickens Insurance
    Tanya Buchanan '00 - Volunteer - Innerfaith Social Services
    Steve Burrows '74 - Retired, Former CEO - Anhesuer-Busch International, Inc.
    Tim Fixmer '75 - President - CCI Media
    Jude Fogarty '70 - Retired Market Development Manager - Cancer Genetics, Inc.
    Kerri Grawe '83 - Director of Retail Sales - Juno Lighting Group and Schneider Electric
    Kris Hanson '96 - Attorney - Lindner & Marsack SC
    Tom Hayes '81 - President & CEO - Pauquette Center for Psychological Services
    Chuck Heinrich '69 - Retired Transportation Security Inspector - U.S. Department of Homeland Security
    Jerry Hierseman '83 - Attorney & Partner - End, Hierseman & Crain, LLC
    Tim Hopper '88 - Major Case Manager - Sentry Insurance
    Roger Kemman '74 - President/Owner - RYECO, Inc.
    Ross Kinzler '75 - Executive Director - Wisconsin Housing Alliance
    Greg Kneser '83 - Vice President for Student Life - St. Olaf College
    Dave Lang '73 - President - Lang Dental Manufacturing Co., Inc
    Eric Lund '91 - COO/Co-Founder - S&L Hospitality
    Yolanda McGowan '90 - Legal Counsel - Wisconsin Department of Safety & Professional Services
    Don Meyer '69 MSE '74 - Retired Psychologist - Family Resources Associates
    Paul Miller '91 - Founding Partner/President - Miller/Wenhold Capitol Strategies
    Mark Niedfeldt '88 - Family Medicine/Sports Medicine Physician - Private Practice, Mark Niedfeldt, M.D.
    Christian Nimmo '02 - Vice President of Investments - UBS Financial Services, Inc.
    Tony Prater '80 - Co-Founder/Former President - Verity Medical Inc.
    Bob Ross '85 - President/Owner - White Heron Technologies
    Rod Sonnenburg '67 - Owner & President - 2b Exhibits, Inc.
    Tom Van De Bogart '74 - Retired Director of Finance - MillerCoors
    Diane Welsh '84 - Shareholder & Attorney - von Briesen & Roper, SC
    Kathy Wood '65 - Owner - A-1 Tax Xpress, LLC

    Staff Representatives

    David Travis - Dean
    Tamara Hauck - Director of Development


    College of Letters & Sciences
    Laurentide Hall 4100
    University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
    800 W. Main Street
    Whitewater, WI 53190-1790


    Office of the Dean
    Rebecca Reichert
    Phone: (262) 472-1621

    Follow Us

    UW-W CLS Meet Your Faculty blog